chosenforgreatness

Preparation for Purpose

Nice People

Leave a comment

The Dollar Store has to be one of my favorite place to fraternize.   They have everything.

Who knew that it would blow up to be the best thing since ice cream trucks.   I mean if you think about it, it is an ice cream truck on wheels.  Who knew! that there could be such a thing.  I am impressed and taken back by all this at the same time.  I am a kid all over again every time I enter this place.  The dollar store takes cash, food stamps, credit and debit cards. Everybody can get in on this. And it’s all legal!

Now, let’s not get the Dollar Store confused with the Dollar General, Family Dollar or your neighborhood $1 Store.  They don’t even compare.  Tell me this…where else can you go and get carpet cleaner, toothpaste, a spatula, swimming noodles, auto wipes, frozen waffles, a greeting card and eyeliner all in the same place for a $1 each?  See that’s what I am talking about.  No Where!  I am in love with a inanimate object and I don’t care who knows it.  Go there tomorrow.  You will be hooked too.

Now, here is where it gets real good to me.  I am already happy and gleeful and all of those over joyous feelings when I am on the way to the store.  But oh my goodness, when I actually enter, I think I must be in Never Never Land.  Who greets you when you enter? The cashier… What the f…!  I can’t even get a look in the eye from the Target employees.  It is as if Santa came and stole all their checks that day.  And I know because I have had that look once or twice in my heyday when I worked retail too.  Especially if Uncle Sam took just a little too much of his so called “fair share”.  I swear to you it’s every time.  Stop laughing. Seriously, I am not kidding, really it’s every time.  And I am impressed.

“Hi, Welcome to the dollar store”, I hear as I enter. “Hello”, I respond.  That was the first time but then it happened again and again and again.  Theses are some really nice people. I think that Nordstrom doesn’t even do that.  And I spend a whole heck of a lot more money there.  I wonder what the interview process must be like.

“Good morning Ms. Scott, how are your today?”

“Fine thank you.  I appreciate you asking me in today for this interview.”

“Oh, you are most welcome.  Well, I have read over your resume’.  And it painted an overall good picture of your work ethics throughout the years.  But tell me.  How many times do you say hello a day. ”

“Excuse me, sir. But could you repeat the question one more time?”

“Tell me how many times do you say hello a day. Is it one, two or five? ”

” I thought that was what you said. Well, when you say hello, do you mean when I rise, take out the trash, ride the bus?  You mean somethings like that?”

“Well, yes, during some activities like that throughout the course of a day.”

“Well if I had to put a number on it…let me see, uh, maybe. Wait, does good morning and good afternoon and oh good evening count too?”

“Certainly”.

“Well, I would have to say about 22.”

“22, very impressive.”

“Well, that concludes our interview Ms. Scott.  You will be receiving a call within a week with our determination.  We are still reviewing other candidates.  It was great meeting you.”

“Well, it was great meeting you too, sir. Is that it?”

“Yes, that’s it. For now”

“Okay then thank you for your time”

“And yours as well.”

And Ms. Scott was hired.  Anything over 15… scored!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Queen Kareem

I am a regular person. living a sense-ational life, Recently plagued with a series of misfortunes that left my mind in depression and despair, I challenged myself to help others as God has helped me to himself and his angels amongst us. I now breathe in life, as I should, caring about all the little things.

Leave a Reply

